RSS

The Peculiarities of Locomotive Numbers

01 Jul

Below, you’ll see a perfectly nice photograph of SZD 0-10-0 No. Er766-41 performing switching duties at the Museum of Railway Transport in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Image Source on Dmitri Zinoviev’s parovoz.com
But, “Wait!” I hear the eagle-eyed among you say. “That’s Er786-19, it says so clearly on the tender.” And therein lies the nuisance. Unlike practices in other parts of the world, in Russia, tenders are usually lettered prominently for the locomotive with which they were constructed. So this is, indeed Er766-41 dragging around the tender from Er766-19.

In times past, I fell into the trap of placing a photo with the record for the number on the tender (usually when I couldn’t see the number on the locomotive). After getting verbally thrashed over this a couple of times, I’m much more careful now. And I also thought a small explanation would be useful. And I liked the photo we’ve linked to here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2017 in Interesting Locomotives

 

Comments are closed.

 
